David-Cameron-and-his-MPs-MFollowing the General Election the following ministerial appointments have been made by Prime Minister David Cameron. We have listed the departments that are the most relevant to the work of the Countryside Alliance. Key amongst the appointments are the return of Liz Truss as Secretary of State for Environment, the promotion of George Eustice as Minister for State at Defra and the appointment of Rory Stewart as Under Secretary of State at Defra. 


Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs – Secretary of State, Elizabeth Truss

Mrs Truss has been MP for South West Norfolk since the 2010 general election and has a particular interest in supporting British food. Executive chairman of the Countryside Alliance, Barney White-Spunner, said of her reappointment in May 2015: “The Countryside Alliance welcomes the reappointment of Liz Truss as Secretary of State for Defra. She proved to be a staunch and very capable representative of rural interests in the short period she held the office prior to the General Election. We look forward to working with her in the new Parliament when she will have real opportunities to take positive steps for the countryside.”
Minister of State, George Eustice – Mr Eustice has been MP for Camborne and Redruth since 2010. His family owns a fruit farm in Cornwall.
Under Secretary of State, Rory Stewart – Since May 2010, he has been the Member of Parliament for Penrith and The Border and has been a vocal campaigner for broadband rollout in rural areas.

Department for Communities and Local Government
Secretary of State, Greg Clark
Minister of State, Mark Francois
Minister of State, Brandon Lewis
Under Secretary of State, James Wharton
Under Secretary of State, Kris Hopkins
Under Secretary of State, Marcus Jones
Under Secretary of State, Lord Ahmad of Wimbledon

Home Office
Secretary of State, Theresa May
Minister of State, John Hayes
Minister of State, Mike Penning
Minister for Security and Immigration, James Brokenshire
Under Secretary of State, Karen Bradley
Under Secretary of State, Lord Bates

Department for Culture, Media and Sport
Secretary of State, John Whittingdale
Minister of State, Ed Vaizey
Under Secretary of State, Tracey Crouch

Ministry of Justice
Secretary of State, Michael Gove
Minister of State, Mike Penning
Minister of State, Lord Faulks QC
Under Secretary of State, Caroline Dineage
Under Secretary of State, Dominic Raab
Under Secretary of State, Shailesha Vara
Under Secretary of State, Andrew Selous