2016 logoThank you to everyone who nominated a business in the 2016 Rural Oscars – it has been a record year with over 7,500 nominations, meaning the shortlisting process has been very, very hard.

The Rural Oscars are the Countryside Alliance’s annual celebration of rural businesses, communities, food & farming, skills, heritage and enterprise. They are public-nomination led and shine a spotlight on the hard work and dynamism being used to meet the specific challenges of doing business, and keeping communities together, in the countryside.

Regional finalists selected

We have now selected regional finalists across five regions (North, Midlands, East, South East, South West, Wales) in five categories*.

Meet them here:

2016 Finalists for Wales – winners were announced at Cardiff Bay on 1st February – read about them here.
2016 Finalists for the North of England
2016 Finalists for the Midlands
2016 Finalists for the East of England
2016 Finalists for the South East of England
2016 Finalists for the South West of England

NB Scotland runs a separate scheme – read more here.

What’s next?

Judging will commence then in the New Year (earlier by appointment) with regional champions being declared in February.

Those regional champions will go through to the Parliamentary final which will be held at the House of Lords in March. Good luck to all, and thanks for supporting rural businesses through our popular awards scheme.

*Our categories are:

  • Local food/ drink
  • Village Shop/ Post Office
  • Farm Enterprise
  • Tourism Enterprise
  • Butcher

NB The winner of the 2016 Clarissa Dickson Wright Award will also be declared at Parliament next March. The Clarissa Award goes to a business or person fighting hard for food & farming, educating, campaigning and championing slow food and high welfare.

Get in touch

Follow us on Twitter @CAAwards and use the hashtag #RuralOscars.

If you have any queries about the Awards get in touch on [email protected]


Read about last year’s Champions, handed out by then-Environment Secretary Liz Truss, here. Follow the Awards on Twitter using the hashtag #RuralOscars

Please note that these awards take place across England and Wales only, Scotland runs the Scottish Rural Awards which are a separate scheme.