Wednesday, 18 May 2011

images-7The Welsh Assembly election produced a Labour Government in Wales. Whilst the Labour Party fell short by one seat of an overall majority they have decided not to form a coalition with another party but to govern alone with 30 elected members. The First Minister, Carwyn Jones, has come under fire for not including the Minister for Agriculture within the cabinet.

Rachel Evans has met and spoken at length with the First Minister. Meanwhile, a Conservative Party leadership battle is underway after the leader, Nicholas Bourne lost his regional seat. Plaid Cymru are also likely to see a new leader for their party whilst the Liberal Democrats have no intention of replacing Kirsty Williams.

but instead making it a Deputy Minister’s post. Cabinet details are as follows:

  • Rt Hon Carwyn Jones AM – First Minister of Wales
  • Edwina Hart AM – Minister for Business, Enterprise and Technology
  • Lesley Griffiths AM – Minister for Health and Social Services
  • Jane Hutt AM – Minister for Finance and Leader of the House
  • John Griffiths AM – Minister for Environment and Sustainable Development
  • Leighton Andrews AM – Minister for Education and Skills
  • Carl Sargeant AM – Minister for Local Government and Communities
  • Huw Lewis AM – Minister for Housing, Regeneration and Heritage

Deputy Ministers:

  • Gwenda Thomas AM – Deputy Minister for Children and Social Services
  • Jeff Cuthbert AM – Deputy Minister for Skills
  • Alun Davies AM – Deputy Minister for Agriculture, Food, Fisheries and European Programmes
  • Presiding Officer – Rosemary Butler AM (Labour)
  • Deputy Presiding Officer – David Melding AM (Conservative)